Twelvetimes

Capture.PNGThe years whiz by. They wait for nobody. This year I am fighting against my busy life. I am making a stand to make my life the life I want. The life I want to look back on and be satisfied with. I want to live a wonderful life with my hubby Anthony and kids (three young adults and a toddler).  I am putting together a plan.  I am making sure that when the next new year’s eve rocks around I can look back and celebrate achieving my dreams big and small.  I am starting my year with a new idea that I call Twelvetimes.

This is how it works. I made a list of all the things I love doing, all the things that I value or look forward to and all the things I need to do. All those ‘one day’ things.

Then I decided that if I do things just once a month then by the end of the year I would hopefully have done all the things that bring me happiness and fulfillment at least Twelvetimes this year! 

Then there are the one off goals /seasonal type outings and ongoing projects (they have been added as a prompt to keep my focus on what matters instead of wasting my nights chillaxing by the TV when I would prefer to chillax by the TV with my knitting needles or crochet hook in hand!).

This is my massive goal list:

  • Go to the snow
  • Blue Lakes walk (buy a hiking baby pack)
  • Mt Kosciusko walk
  • go to Berry and look at maybe getting a cuckoo clock
  • monthly dinner with each set of parents
  • monthly bike ride
  • monthly bush walk
  • monthly gardening
  • monthly brunch of the month with mum friends
  • monthly dinner out as a couple
  • monthly Kids park- prefer with picnic lunch or snacks
  • monthly games night
  • monthly International dinner night
  • monthly meet up with friends
  • monthly breakfast or lunch out
  • Fire pit evenings 8
  • BBQs 10
  • craft on Tuesdays
  • beach at least 4 times
  • Taronga
  • live music -like 5150
  • Canberra Show
  • Multicultural festival
  • weekend away 4
  • train to Bungendore
  • Canberra Festival events
  • Botanic gardens
  • National Gallery
  • plan and book another big holiday… Great Barrier Reef? Fiji?
  • Knit 4 garments for Miss Bee
  • Knit my own cardigan
  • Scrapbooking
  • crochet rug

It looks kind of overwhelming but once I sat back and scheduled them into our calendars I started to get really excited about my year. There is a brisk pace but there is room to relax too. Part of my goal is to keep things achievable. It might mean that things are done in simplistic ways. Pared down to “tick the box” at times when life is break neck speed. After all, there is nothing ‘wrong’ with doing things simply. I tend to be the type who wants to overachieve and do things to an extreme. Enough is often not good enough. But this year it will be a change of pace. I will let ‘good enough’ be determined by the time available. Time is in short supply with a toddler. Plus, if I miss something one month well eleven times in a year is ‘good enough’ right?

I’m going to start this blog by doing a ‘rewind’ post to January. Which is good enough as I have been busy.

Leave a Reply

