Going into detox. .. confessional

Held lovingly.  Always close.  Gazed at.  Checked in upon. Seeking my attention.  No. .. Not Miss Bee. .. my phone!
Is it an addiction or is it just a mum at home alone wanting to connect for the sack of sanity?
Either way I am starting to notice my little digital device is often just in reach. I notice the “other person in my life” that I’m having an affair with is my phone. Perhaps it’s escapism? Or am I (*GASP) part of the next generation of now people?  Those people who I detest?  Impatient people.
Miss Bee is engrossed in play.  Am I enjoying a well deserved moment to chill out in peace while marvelling at her cuteness?  Nope. .. I’m using that moment to quickly check Facebook.  Wow. .   It’s the birthday of someone I haven’t seen since college. I better wish them a wonderful day after all I don’t want to look like I don’t care less.  Besides,  they are probably checking to see how many birthday wishes they got.  I don’t want them to feel like a loser now do I? So far they only have 3 messages!  Ooohhh and look. . my old  work mate from 7 years ago who I haven’t spoken to face to face for 5 years has checked into a cafe. .. They have a chocolate cake and latte art. ..On a romantic date. .. better like that. Apparently my other old school mate is most like R2D2 from star wars.  Hmm what are you trying to eat Miss Bee.  Ooops I was distracted by goodness knows what rubbish.  All I know it’s that this stuff is rubbish.  If that messenger message was critical they could PHONE ME!
Interested in toddler activities?  Spend 2 hrs on Google then open Pinterest… Good bye me time!
I want to be more present.  I don’t want to be addicted to the digital virtual world.  I want my quiet times to be just that. .. enough! Moments of solitude, mindful moments to reflect,  moments to do nothing.  Doing nothing is legitimate. Doing nothing is how people destress.
So being a good digital addict I Googled digital detox! Yes there is an app for that!

image

Using my twelvetimes philosophy I had to choose which apps suck my time then decide which rules to apply. .  12x! 12 hrs per day?  12 times launching. .. In a day?  In a hour?  12 minutes?  Anyway I have set my app “rules” and I have started my detox today!  My first effort was calling a friend instead of texting. .. Go me!
I am hoping for more time to just be.
Let’s see how I go.  Have I put my Blog on rules?  Ummm let’s not rush things.

Leave a Reply

