Lamington balls


I make various little ball morsels to pack for Miss Bee. She gets about 2 a week. I freeze them to keep them fresh and take one out the night before eating.

The star of the show is usually dried fruits, often dates. I generally don’t use a recipe as I make it up based on what I have.  Today I made up a slightly less healthy version as it contained cake but nevertheless mostly healthy and definitely tasty.

Today’s efforts produced a very yummy ball.  I had lamington as my base idea when I started.  Luckily I had some frozen plain cake cut into square pieces in my freezer.

Here’s the recipe:

Into a blender/food processor put:

6 prunes

8 dates

2/3 cup approx plain cake (GF would work) If you didn’t have cake you could try a weetbix or 4 plain sweet biscuits

1/4 cup desicated coconut

2 T almond meal (be generous) if you’re wanting Nut Free omit the almond meal

2 T rolled oats (omit if GF)

2 T cocoa

Blitz into a fine meal

Now add aporox 1/4 cup maple syrup

2 t vanilla

Blitz until it’s sticky enough to form a ball adding more maple syrup (or water if you prefer)

Roll into bite sized balls and roll around in coconut. Mine made 21 balls.

For an adult’s only version add 2 teaspoons of instant coffee for a Mocha energy ball with a caffeine hit.

Nom nom nom.

Leave a Reply

