Vietnamese Chicken Nom Nom salad

Let me start by saying I needed a fast dinner and luckily the chicken was already pan fried and sliced ready to go.

I started craving the sweet, spicy aromatics of a Vietnamese dressing.  I goggled a few recipes and being me tweaked them to get what I wanted.  First recipe I looked at didn’t have the salad variety I’d hoped for so after looking at a few those is the combo I decided on.  Snow peas were on my list but the bowl looked full enough.

Here’s what I came up with quantity is per person.

Into a bowl put:

1/2 cup of finely chopped wombok 

2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh coriander (cilantro) 

1/4 very finely sliced red capsicum 

1/2 finely julienne carrot

1 finely diagonally sliced shallot 

1/2 sliced cooked cold chicken breast 

Dressing
: blitz in a food processor (I used a stick blender) 

3 Tablespoons fish sauce

3 tablespoons lime juice (I used bottled) 

1/2 red chilli 

2 tablespoons fresh mint

1 tablespoon brown sugar
Pour the dressing over the salad.  Toss to distribute dressing.  Serve immediately. 

Leave a Reply

