Food for kids 

I carefully think about and plan what Miss Bee eats.  I have developed her palate so she enjoys a wide range of foods. She loves everything from porridge to olives to vegetables to milkshakes.  

When I pack her lunchbox for childcare when I work it’s varied and healthy.  Boxes with homemade fruit salad,  antipasto and fresh vegetable mixes,  sandwiches, home-baked cereal, fruit or vegetable based baked treats,  dairy serves and nut mix.  She has a lunch box plus a snack box. 

Yet when I go to work I teach children who have less food in the two days than she has in one lunch box for one day.  Some have lots of food but it’s 5 or 6 chocolate icing filling biscuits,  bread without even margarine, no fruit,  definitely no veg,  dairy might be one of those “cracker dipper” prepackaged things. Sugar and salt are key features,  nutrients not so.  

I am grateful that I am educated enough to know better and do better for my child.  Economics is not a factor as many of these prepackaged foods are much more expensive per item or per kg than fresh fruit.  Convenience? What is easier than picking up an apple? You don’t even need to open a box. 

I feel sad that these kids will grow up not knowing better. 

Leave a Reply

